There are two opportunities for Austin residents to be part of redistricting:


Applicant Review Panel

Three Certified Public Accountants serve on the Panel. The Panel has selected the 60 most-qualified commission applicants.

More info about the Panel

Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission

The Commission will draw the boundaries of Austin’s council districts.

More info about the Commission

Where are we in the process?

Three CPAs were selected for the Panel

Panel selected the 60 most-qualified applicants for the Commission

box with X

Each Council Member can strike one application from the qualified pool

City Auditor randomly selected 8 Commissioners from the qualified pool

gray checkmark within 2 boxes

Commissioners chose 6 more applicants from the qualified pool

Pencil with straight line icon that represents drawing

Commissioners draw districts

Local Austin Organization Playing Jumprope with Youth

About Redistricting

Austin has 10 city council members and a mayor. The mayor is elected by residents citywide and each council member is elected by residents of a geographic district within the city.

Austin has a process for residents to redraw the boundaries of the council districts every ten years. The boundaries of the council districts greatly impact Austin’s government and will shape how residents are represented for the next decade.

Austin residents will redraw the council district boundaries in 2021.

Toddler with her father at local community garden

Why Redistricting Matters

Redistricting will change how Austin residents are represented by City Council and shape how we think about our communities.

Austin’s population has grown and changed since the districts were originally drawn in 2013. The new district boundaries may change as well.

Residents who participate will have a chance to meet Austinites across the city and learn more about the city we call home. They will learn about Austin’s history and make important decisions about Austin’s future.

Filipino Performers at Austin Festival


Austin residents voted to elect City Council by geographic district in 2012. Before that vote, six council members and the mayor were elected citywide. Today, the city has 10 districts with a council member elected from each district. The mayor is still elected citywide.

A diverse group of Austin residents determined the boundaries for the 10 council districts in 2013. Since then, Austin’s population has grown and changed. In 2021, a new group of residents will redraw the new district boundaries to reflect these changes.